Pushovers Don’t Make Good Boyfriends

Pushover: someone who is easily controlled, offers very little resistance to what someone else wants to do, and backs down easily – Urban Dictionary

Jacob is not a pushover. A perfect gentleman but not a pushover.  He mentioned that he had never tasted sushi, one of my favorite treats in the world.  This shocking fact caused me to bring him to my favorite raw-fish establishment.  I spent the entire day excited to introduce someone I care about to such a delicious type of food (and excited to eat my own yellowtail and spicy tuna, of course).

Peer pressure

I ordered the best three rolls on the menu and my favorite winter ale.  He, on the other hand, ordered off the noodle menu and skipped a drink.  As much as I pressured him to join me in sushi and beer, he persisted to do what he wanted to do.  I have a tendency to get men to do what I want, so a guy who does not give into peer pressure excites me.  I like to know that he can’t be moved to do something he does not truly want to do.  (I also enjoy the challenge to peer pressure him, let’s be honest.)

I’ve been relationships before with pushovers, and while convenient, they are not exactly healthy.  Where is the fun in choosing the restaurant every single time?  What kind of relationship never requires both parties to compromise?  Getting what you want is fun… but not seven days a week when you are walking all over your significant other.  I hope to end up with someone who makes his own decisions and stands firm in his beliefs, wants, and opinions.

Have you ever dated a pushover?