Mr. Drop Dead Gorgeous Has A Secret

Football

I fall in love with everyone.  Every time I go out, I find the new love of my life.  Each time I meet a new group of people, I fall for one of them.  Whenever I join a class or team… same thing.  And, that’s what brings me to today’s post.  I joined an all girls flag football team with four male coaches.  My heart stopped at the sight of the drop-dead gorgeous one, but I left it at that.  He’s just another absurdly attractive man.  “I will not fall in love with him”, I told myself.  “This is serious.  I’m here to learn how to play football.”

During our second practice, however, Drop Dead Gorgeous called me by my first name.  He didn’t remember the other girls’ names and didn’t talk to any of them during practice.  He teased me me and possibly… could this be?… flirted with me.  Every time I had to run a play, he would have a clever comment and something to say:

“Catch the ball this time, you”

“Nice push up.”

“I bet you can lap that girl on the relay.”

“Don’t f this one up… I’ll make you do a hundred more push ups.”

“You are a little bit of a spaz, aren’t you?  That’s okay, I am too.”

When he reviewed the plays, he seemed to look at me most of the time.  Maybe I gave away that I lacked any football skills or knowledge, and he knew I needed more coaching, but there seemed to be something there.  I attempted to avoid his gaze and ignore his comments.  The more I tried, the more I felt my stomach flip flop at the mere glance his way.  He became quite distracting and I could not think of anything but him.  The chemistry between us felt intense, but I still wasn’t sure if it was all in my head.  Someone this hot can’t have feelings for me too.

The next day, I could not stop thinking about him.  His rippling muscles, jokes, laughter, and blue eyes would not escape my mind.  So, I did what any other jaded loser from my generation would do:  I facebook stalked him.  He had two pictures I could see (damn privacy settings!), so obviously I just clicked back and forth between them for a solid twenty minutes or so, watching as the girls on the team accepted my friend request (the girls were all super cool too).

And then it happened:  He requested me to be his friend!  I was suddenly transformed into a giddy school girl and could not contain my excitement.  We only had one friend in common, which means he didn’t friend anyone else from the team.  The butterflies were flitting through my stomach as if it were the first time I’d ever had a crush in my entire life.

If only I knew then what I know now:  Mr. Drop Dead Gorgeous has a secret.

To Be Continued…