Dating A Genius

Jason and I met at an AMAZING Central Square vegetarian health-food spot for Quinoa salads sprinkles with flax seed and yeast.  It’s a fantastic hippy-dippy restaurant if you ask me.  I ordered their signature dish, “The Goddess”.  Great choice for a first date, Jason.

He arrived a little late (which is fine by me – early arrival is a huge turn off), and stood at eye level with me in line.  Eye level with me implies that he is also about 5’2.  It’s a strange feeling for me not to be looking up at a guy  (or any person, really), but I wasn’t too torn up about it.  He still was about an inch or so taller than me, and if we hung out I wouldn’t feel obligated to wear uncomfortable heals.  Yeay for comfortable feet!  He is definitely the shortest guy I’ve ever dated.

What's on your stethescope?

He’s a pediatrician at Children’s Hospital and works with the same exact profile of students I teach.  I’m sure he’s met some of my students.  We had so much to talk about regarding teaching and working with families, children, and crazy parents.  Conversation flowed and I found myself at ease with him.  For a 27-year old doctor at one of the best hospitals in the world, he seemed totally normal.  It kept dawning on me that I was sitting across from a genius.

He plays the French horn and spoke of being a part of three bands and playing in an orchestra. He composes and writes his own music on the side, too…. you know, in between curing children of disabilities and lecturing Harvard medical students.  No big deal.

His cute southern accent and awe of the snow was endearing and I was happy to agree to a second date.  There wasn’t too much physical attraction, but I certainly am looking forward to even more good conversation the next time we hung out.