Exposure

Jacob explained that his scientist-mind might not understand the artwork at the contemporary art museum, but he still wanted to try it out with me on our fourth date (but hey, who’s counting?).  He admitted that when he travels, he loves to check out a city’s science museum, while I search for the contemporary art scene.  I love conceptual art, found art, or pieces that challenge the idea of what art is and make the viewer think.

English: A woman recites a poem in front of an...

Jacob and I entered the museum to find just that: furniture tacked onto the wall to demonstrate the relationship between art and home life, found heroine needles framed to portray the drug culture in lower Manhattan in the 80s, and a simple silver rabbit on display to show I don’t know what.  Jacob was clearly bored but insisted I take my time walking through the galleries.  He waited patiently.  Through all of our dates, Jacob’s constant kindness and eagerness to give surprised me and relieved my cynical side.  Maybe not all men are jerks.

Our walk through the museum concluded in a 360 degree exhibit with life sized television screens on all sides, filled with musicians in the Canadian Rockies, a meadow, or a huge pile of mud, playing outrageous tinkerings on pianos, banjos, drums, and hot pink electric guitars, while drinking from a glass bottle of Jack Daniels. Jacob loved it!  He mentioned it multiple times that day, and I felt that I won him over into the world of contemporary art – one he was hesitant to accept at first.

Not to say that Jacob and I are technically in a relationship, but isn’t that what relationships are all about?  I know I’d like to end up with a man who will expose me to new art, new ideas, new belief systems, new music, new food, and will hope for the same from me.