Digging Out

Jacob suggested movies for our third date, since the ground was still covered in snow. When I asked him what movie we should watch, he replied , “All of them”. Little did I know he was serious.  We rented three movies for a fun Sunday-night-movie-marathon. Before we watched any, though, Jacob suggested helping me dig out my car. I told him that it was an outrageous idea considering my car looked like this:IMG_1682

He insisted, and after an hour with only one pizza break, it looked like this:IMG_1726

We then settled in for a well deserved six hours of movie watching. Spooning on my couch, we enjoyed Pitch Perfect, Seven Psychopaths, and Seeking A Friend For the End of the World, more pizza, popcorn and cookies.

A few days later, he asked to hang out on Valentine’s Day, which was really sweet. I came very close to canceling with the doctor, but good old Catholic guilt got the best of me and I told him I had to pass. Never in a million billion years would I have guessed that I would ever have TWO date options for Valentine’s Day. I think I realized that we had not only dug my car out of the snow, but I had also dug myself out of a six year rut also known as my love life.