Posted on

I Will Not Fall In Love Tonight

I will not fall in love with you because you buy me a drink.  I will not fall when you laugh at my jokes.  I won’t even fall for you when you admit you love your job as a doctor, teacher, lawyer, human rights activist, sustainable resource manager, zookeeper, astronaut, or Apple technician. I won’t let you trick me with your piercing blue eyes.  I won’t imagine how our children will look when your lips curl into a perfectly symmetrical, wide smile.  It won’t impress me when you know my favorite restaurant, bar, book, song, or beer and it’s yours too.

Man portrait

No matter what, tonight, you are just a guy at a bar.  And nothing more.  If you get my number, I won’t get excited.  If you say I’m pretty, I’ll remember that you’ve said that a dozen times before.  You are only one.  You are not the one.  I will not fall in love with you tonight.

About whenstrangerskiss

I am a woman in my late twenties looking for love... or like... or a fun night out. Clearly, I have had adventures and misadventures in dating and after years of friends telling me to publish all of my hysterical stories on a blog, I'm doing it!

One response to “I Will Not Fall In Love Tonight

  1. Pingback: And I fell for you. Hard. | When Strangers Kiss

Leave a comment