That time I got stood up and had to pay $75 anyway

IMG_0296He suggested we sail. He needed to wait for a package to arrive at home and then he’d come pick me up.  “The package should arrive by three,” he promised.

3:00 came and went.

3:15 came and went.

I read his angry texts cursing the delivery truck as 3:30 came and went.

Apology texts buzzed on my phone as 3:45 came and went.

Even though the docks closed at six, he suggested I drive now and he would meet me.  In the 95-degree summer heat, driving myself sounded fine as long as I found myself lapping up the waves and feeling the cool breeze on his boat.  I parked, paid the meter, and walked towards the Charles.  A beep from my phone: “I’m very sorry to get your hopes up, but if it doesn’t come in the next ten minutes, I don’t think we will have time.  Maybe I can meet you for a drink.”

Disappointed that I couldn’t see him and that we couldn’t sail, I forced myself to enjoy the first day of summer anyway.  With my brand new Canon in hand, I found a relaxing spot next to the river.  I photographed the people, buildings, and river of my favorite city with the sounds of the water and children laughing all around me.  Children and adults crowded the esplanade, playing, biking, roller blading, and walking.  I listened to Ingrid Michelson (my favorite) and basked in the summer energy, lying in the grass with my finger on the shutter.

Walking back to my car, certain euphoria had overtaken me. Sun kissed and happy, my summer seemed perfect thus far (even with the minor change in sailing plans).

The rapid change in my mood from exceedingly happy to ridiculously angry even shocked me as I lifted the $75 parking ticket from my wiper.  Without looking close enough to the three inch by four-inch sign four cars down the road, I had failed to notice that parking was illegal on that particular block in the city from 4 to 5pm.

Obviously, this was all his fault!  If he hadn’t suggested sailing and then asked me to drive and then canceled sailing I would not be out $75 dollars!  And, to top it all off, when I texted him to tell him I got a ticket, all he said was, “That sucks”.  Maybe he isn’t quite the man of my dreams after all.