Posted on

The Man of My Dreams

After ditching two creepy guys at The Field, Nina and I ventured into the back room for some darts. Nina pointed out that a group of people behind us were talking about starting a game. I tapped the cutest guy’s shoulder and asked if they were looking to play. His response: ‘I was just looking to talk to you and if playing darts with you is my best way to do it, then yeah.’

And that was how I met this week’s Man Of My Dreams. Over the course of the evening, I learned that he was hilarious, smart, 28, resident of Brookline, phenomenal dancer and CFO of a company that sold wind-powered energy to corporations. As you can see, wedding bells were ringing in my head all night.

Beach wedding Couple

Man of My Dreams and I at our future wedding.

I focused all of my attention on being normal and not letting him know that I was madly in love with him/naming our future children.  While I wanted to ask him dozens of personal questions about him, his past relationships, and willingness to marry me in 2015, I kept it so cool. He initiated most of the conversation and mentioned the possibility of us hanging out later in the week.

The group of us (me, Nina, Man Of My Dreams and his friend), walked from The Field to Middlesex to get our 90s dance on. Around 1AM, the friend of Man Of My Dreams decided to head out.  Man Of My Dreams did not go with him, which clearly meant that he was in love with me. The three of us danced until 2:30, when the bar closed. Man Of My Dreams had to use the restroom before heading out so we sat down to wait for him. We waited. And waited. And waited. And when we were the last people in the bar, we realized he had left aaaaand that was that.  I may or may not have cried.  FML.

About whenstrangerskiss

I am a woman in my late twenties looking for love... or like... or a fun night out. Clearly, I have had adventures and misadventures in dating and after years of friends telling me to publish all of my hysterical stories on a blog, I'm doing it!

6 responses to “The Man of My Dreams

  1. Malkire ⋅

    Oh man, that is awful. I am so sorry!

  2. Booo! Bad move, Man of Dreams. Your loss!

  3. Audrey

    Ugh!! Stupid future 2015 husband.

  4. Haha “naming our future children”!

  5. Pingback: Rejection | When Strangers Kiss

Leave a comment