Posted on

Staying Safe When Dating Psychopaths

I was really excited to meet up with him in person.  We had exchanged some witty emails, and his profile on Match described how energetic and active he was – just like me!  He apologized a dozen times for canceling our first date due to the flu, and he said cute things like, “You are adorable!” and, “I am excited for our date… I think we’ll get along swimmingly”.  Love it!

The general things I look for in a guy were there:  Graduated college?  Check.  Views family as important?  Check.  Loves his job?  Check.  Works out?  Check.  Makes me laugh?  Check.  Religious?  Likes museums?  Cute pictures?  Check. Check. Check.  And… shockingly… he was my age.

But then, the morning of our date he sent a text that said, “See you tonight” with this attachment:

IMG_3861

WHAT??? My first response was, “Is that you?” and even with a “NO LOL” response, I still felt incredibly nervous about our date.  Was he crazy?  A sex offender?  Child molester?  Con artist?  Just escaped from jail?  Psychopath?  That’s really all I could conclude from this attachment.   It was just so … bizarre.

I was pumped to meet him and now… am a little worried for my well being.  Friends will be on call to answer my “Help!  I’m being abducted!” phone call, and I told a few people his first and last name in case I disappeared.  As you can see, I’m an extremely safe and responsible woman when it comes to dating crazy people.

About whenstrangerskiss

I am a woman in my late twenties looking for love... or like... or a fun night out. Clearly, I have had adventures and misadventures in dating and after years of friends telling me to publish all of my hysterical stories on a blog, I'm doing it!

9 responses to “Staying Safe When Dating Psychopaths

  1. Awww. He just sent you a weird gif. Hold judgment until you meet him. 🙂

    Plus, the gif is funny.

  2. Malkire ⋅

    I just burst out laughing. I hope this guy is as awesome as that gif.

  3. Good girl on the name giving (I usually include phone number and where we intend to meet, so the police have a good starting point).
    If a boy sent me that gif, I’d be having second thoughts…

  4. He is just SO EXCITED to meet you!!! Every guy makes silly mistakes…you have to write about how it went.

  5. No ID

    Ha, ha, ha…that is excellent! I actually liked the gif. Kind of cute, but yes, you can never be too safe.

  6. Pingback: Since When is Britney Not Classy? | When Strangers Kiss

  7. Amanda O.

    I loved the gif too! but then again, I’m a sucker for memes 🙂

  8. Pingback: Skip The ‘I’m Just Not That Into You’ Talk | When Strangers Kiss

  9. Pingback: WHAT THE F | When Strangers Kiss

Leave a comment